Battlefield 4 PC Players check in

127 posts / 0 new
Last post
Thu, 10/31/2013 - 12:21
Plumbob's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 7 months ago
Joined: 11/17/2009 - 23:00

My Origin gamertag is Plumbob2w

 

Thu, 10/31/2013 - 18:54
Cardiac_Wolf's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 08/21/2010 - 23:00

Plumbob, I will send you a friend request on Origin.  Just a heads up so that you will not have to wonder where the request came from.  My Origin gt is Cardiac_Wolf.  

Sat, 11/02/2013 - 17:33
ImMrPete's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 5 months ago
Joined: 01/14/2007 - 23:00

I play!

 

Origin name = iHearPudding

 

I don't have a whole lot of time to play at the moment. 

Sat, 11/02/2013 - 18:51
MrGuster's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 9 months ago
Joined: 09/12/2006 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Plumbob and ImMrPete, I'll send out invites tomorrow. I am going to give it another go then. Haven't played it since release day.

Sat, 11/02/2013 - 21:57
scratchski's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 02/01/2007 - 23:00

I'm out for now. I'm gonna smash my PC if I don't.

Every sh*tty round, its fine.

Every round where I'm doing well, it crashes. 

I'm sick of wasting time on this.

Let me know when its all fixed, for now I'm uninstalling Origin, and will waste my time elsewhere.

Sun, 11/03/2013 - 02:09
T3muJin's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 1 month ago
Joined: 03/31/2005 - 23:00

i hear you scratchski.  my game crashed 7 times in a row just now.  bunsen did give me a heads up that if the game crashes and you don't rejoin that server, your stats will show up in battlelog.   But the constant crashing is bullshit.  It's actually worse than the crashes in the beta.  How they didn't get this shit fixed and after a supposed server side fix and a client update, still constant crashing.

Sun, 11/03/2013 - 04:48
ImMrPete's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 5 months ago
Joined: 01/14/2007 - 23:00

I updated my drivers hoping that would fix the crashing issue, and it partially did. Now I only crash every once in a while. However, THE SERVERS ARE PURE SHIT. I was getting so pissed off yesterday. Every single server I tried to enter was a laggy mess. 100% completely unplayable. I only have limited time to game these days and really don't feel like spending my time dealing with these issues. 

Sun, 11/03/2013 - 09:53
Cardiac_Wolf's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 08/21/2010 - 23:00

The server crashing was worse last night than it has ever been since launch.  They need to fix this soon.  

Sun, 11/03/2013 - 10:24
MrGuster's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 9 months ago
Joined: 09/12/2006 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

I have not played this since release night. When I saw my quit rate at over 20% because of how much freezing I had, I shook my head. I regret buying this digitally on PC. If I had picked it up on console, I would be trading it in and waiting a few months for things to stabilize. The 360 is having issues as well. I don't know about the PS3. But, along with the online garbage issues, you also have a campaign that is having serious issues as well. 

Until the basic online issues are fixed, I won't be playing it as I feel it is unplayable. I am curious to see how fast they push the fixes out. I remember on Blops 2 for the consoles, the updates in the first few days were fast and furious. Let's see if DICE can pull it off and keep my attention as I am passing on Ghosts to play BF4. Until then, back to GTA V.

Sun, 11/03/2013 - 11:16
scratchski's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 02/01/2007 - 23:00

Oops, I turned the tthread angry !

Well I re-installed Origin so I could finish the SP - which is a chore, but I want some value from this.

I know / hope this game will be fixed further down the line, but in the meantime ? 

When it plays well, its great fun.

P.s. Just looked - Quit percentage at 60 19

Sun, 11/03/2013 - 11:55
MrGuster's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 9 months ago
Joined: 09/12/2006 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

I'm thinking I might just struggle through the campaign for now. I can rarely play online during the day with the kids running amok so I just play SP so I can pause it.

I just scanned through some forums, and it's sad when the BF fan boys out there are complaining as well. I am curious to see how the Ghosts launch goes. It will be the first CoD I don't get at launch. I never understood the COD vs BF comparisons people are blabbing about in forums since to me, they are 2 distinct play styles. And generally, they do a good job at both.

And scratchski, you didn't turn the thread angry. DICE and EA did by not having any quality control. I wonder what's going to happen with the PS4 and XB1 launch.

Sun, 11/03/2013 - 12:09
T3muJin's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 1 month ago
Joined: 03/31/2005 - 23:00

Just saw this in battlelog this morning "WE HAVE IDENTIFIED AN ISSUE WHERE THE GAME SERVER WILL CRASH AND DISCONNECT PLAYERS. WE HAVE A FIX IN PROGRESS. WE ARE ROLLING OUT A PC FIX FOR THE JOIN QUEUE."

That's half the battle, now let's get cracking on bf4 crashing.

Mon, 11/04/2013 - 07:47
ekattan's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 10 months ago
Joined: 05/27/2005 - 23:00

I read that this issue is mostly with 64 players. 

Also there is a map, don't know the name yet it's the one with the train, where the sounds goes in and out. 

Also if you try to reconnect aterwards from crashing its most likely you will crash again, I don't if this is do to the cloud settings being saved. 

Mon, 11/04/2013 - 13:29
TRIHunter's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 8 months ago
Joined: 03/21/2005 - 23:00

Just realized my original tag post was incorrect. My Origin tag is TRI22, same as my xbox gamertag.

Mon, 11/04/2013 - 16:56
bunsen27's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 2 months ago
Joined: 01/10/2006 - 23:00

This is my first BF launch on PC, but my 5th BF DICE/EA launch overall going back to BFBC.  On the BF Launch Clustf@ck scale I rate it as a 6-7 out of 10 (BF1943 was a 10 out of 10 for relative comparision).  Unfortunately it's about average, and what we have come to expect, from EA/DICE with their launch now; fix/patch/balance later business model.  Typically a BF game doesn't get properly balanced until 4-6 months AFTER release, though servers do typically stabalize in 2-4 weeks post launch.  I believe the only reason we (US, Canada, & Mexico) had a few "good" days of servers was due to the game not releasing in Europe until Friday the 1st.  Saturday I got server dropped once and had two game crashes in 6 hours of gaming.  Just lucky I guess as T3muJin was playing on the same servers, but got dropped/crashed twice.  I didn't play Sunday.

 

One thing I did do Friday was under the "Options" menu I dropped "Network Smoothing Factor" from 40% to 20%.  It did seem to help with my hit registry and reduced my WTF? insta kill moments.

It's VERY frustrating paying full retail to play the true BETA for a game, but it is what it is and I blame it ALL on Scratchski!!1

Has anybody figured out how to get the VOIP to work within squad?  Cardiac, T3, and I have been using the BF3 group Chat functionality as a work around.  I did briefly turn VOIP on during a few games while gaming alone, but heard nothing except for one time I got some random chatter through my main speakers and not the headset ear piece.  It wasn't anybody in my squad.

 

 

Mon, 11/04/2013 - 18:39
scratchski's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 02/01/2007 - 23:00

Yup. My fault, but I'm already downloading my next big thrill

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_R_aZUoel2k

Tue, 11/05/2013 - 11:05
bunsen27's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 2 months ago
Joined: 01/10/2006 - 23:00
I see what you did there Scratch! I "think" I may have figured out VOIP in BF4 for PC: 1. In game hit "Esc" and under "options: Audio" turn VOIP to "On" 2. In Battlelog go here and set your options communication options: http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf4/settings/voice/ I located this link via a Google search. I CANNOT find a button, tab, or drop-down menue that takes you to this. This voice chat should only work in-game when you are in the same squad versus the BF3 voice chat that was akin to an XBL Party chat.
Tue, 11/05/2013 - 11:29
ekattan's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 10 months ago
Joined: 05/27/2005 - 23:00

No team speak server? 

Tue, 11/05/2013 - 13:55
Cardiac_Wolf's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 08/21/2010 - 23:00

2 old 2 play has a mumble server.  We may be able to use it.  I already have it set up but I know bunsen had a problem getting it to work.  

Tue, 11/05/2013 - 22:25
Cardiac_Wolf's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 08/21/2010 - 23:00

We really do need to setup VOIP on the mumble.  Tonight we had as many as 5 people in a game and none of us were in voice chat.   I don't think the trick of opening a BF3 battlelog is the answer.  Some may not even have BF3 on PC and we have to explain the steps in text chat when getting someone to do it the first time and mumble is just a lot easier and quicker too launch as well as having better voice quality.   

We should really set this up now and get in the habit of launching it whenever we launch the game and meet up in a channel.   

Tue, 11/05/2013 - 23:23
scratchski's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 02/01/2007 - 23:00

I'll ask if I'm allowed to get a mic, and talk..possibly whisper..mayber just breathe heavily.

If Bunsen problems with mumble, what other options are there ? I've only used the BF3 chat, but don't really want to re-install the whole game just for the chat.

Ventrilo is free isn't it ?

I'll do my homework

Wed, 11/06/2013 - 18:59 (Reply to #52)
Cardiac_Wolf's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 08/21/2010 - 23:00

scratchski wrote:

I'll ask if I'm allowed to get a mic, and talk..possibly whisper..mayber just breathe heavily.

If Bunsen problems with mumble, what other options are there ? I've only used the BF3 chat, but don't really want to re-install the whole game just for the chat.

Ventrilo is free isn't it ?

I'll do my homework

Even if you can't communicate, feel free to join us in chat so you will know what we are doing/planning and we can alert you of any danger.  

Wed, 11/06/2013 - 06:34
Cardiac_Wolf's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 08/21/2010 - 23:00

I was just looking at Mumble, teamspeak, and ventrilo clients are all free to download and you can join any server you have login info for.  Each will require payment for a server but are inexpensive.  In Mumble, you can buy a 15 slot server for $6/month and you can get a discount for 3, 6, 12, and 24 month packages.  Teamspeak and Ventrilo are roughly the same price.

I have pm'd Doodi to see if it is alright for all of us to use the 2old2play server.  If not, I can create one for one of the clients.  

Wed, 11/06/2013 - 06:44
Cardiac_Wolf's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 08/21/2010 - 23:00

Last night, my game froze and crashed times in about 10 minutes and I rebooted the PC and played for about another 60 to 90 minutes without a crash.  I did this over the weekend when I started getting frequent crashes and it helped as well so just an fyi if (I mean when) you experience this problem.  

Wed, 11/06/2013 - 08:11
ekattan's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 10 months ago
Joined: 05/27/2005 - 23:00

Hopefuly will be on tonight for at leats 2 hours. Need to get some unlocks for my loadouts, these fucking default weapons are not to my liking at all. 

Wed, 11/06/2013 - 09:50
bunsen27's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 2 months ago
Joined: 01/10/2006 - 23:00

I'll see if I can get mumble to work for me tonight.  I haven't really tried to figure out the issue since that initial attempt.  I can also supply funding for a mumble or teamspeak BF4 server as you are at a severe disadvantage without squad and team communication.

Wed, 11/06/2013 - 09:57
Cardiac_Wolf's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 08/21/2010 - 23:00

I just heard back from Doodi and he is setting up a room for us in the 2old2play server.  I will post the configuration in the formums here when I get home from work, but they can also be found pinned on the Guild Wars 2 forum in the meantime.  

Wed, 11/06/2013 - 10:36
scratchski's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 02/01/2007 - 23:00

THank you Cardiac for doing the leg work. THank you Doodi for the server space. We'll try and keep the place tidy.

Wed, 11/06/2013 - 10:42
MrGuster's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 9 months ago
Joined: 09/12/2006 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

That will help a lot. I've never used mumble but it sounds like the way to go.

You figure, with a squad based game, they would put some effort into the chat portion of it, or at least make it simple.

Wed, 11/06/2013 - 10:56 (Reply to #60)
bunsen27's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 2 months ago
Joined: 01/10/2006 - 23:00

MrGuster wrote:

That will help a lot. I've never used mumble but it sounds like the way to go.

You figure, with a squad based game, they would put some effort into the chat portion of it, or at least make it simple.

Sadly, DICE have never put much effort into this aspect of the game.  I can recall way back in 2004 on the original Xbox Halo2 having party chat, team chat, as well as proximity chat.  Could you imagine what could happen if DICE would impliment proximity chat so a driver and gunner, not in the same squad, could actually communicate?

Or more importantly I could tell the asshat who stole my IFV last night, while I was repairing it, exactly what I thought of him!!

Join our Universe

Connect with 2o2p