[rF] General Discussion

82 posts / 0 new
Last post
Mon, 03/18/2013 - 21:30
Neverender158's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 10 months ago
Joined: 08/30/2012 - 17:58

So with the rfactor lite version, I have setup my wheel/pedals/buttons for each mod?

I got the DTM mod Kurupt linked to and got it working, just curious about the setup for the buttons.

Mon, 03/18/2013 - 23:35
KRGDRK's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 10 months ago
Joined: 10/20/2008 - 23:00

The easiest way to do it Never is to simply setup your wheel for one mod and then copy that controller file and paste into each mod.  Its what I do and to date I have had no issues.  Makes setup very easy.  If you need a hand with file paths let me know and I'll help out.  Easier to PM me at GBR than here.

Cheers!

Tue, 03/19/2013 - 04:34
KnightofRedemption's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 2 months ago
Joined: 01/02/2012 - 00:00

Yeah what Dark said....other than the PM bit of course smiley

Tue, 03/19/2013 - 08:13
Neverender158's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 10 months ago
Joined: 08/30/2012 - 17:58

Ok the controller.ini file makes sense. I figured there was a file that held all of that info that I just need to copy over. I should be able to find that.

What about tracks? Do i have to copy all of the tracks into the location folder for each install, or is there a way I can have each install read the locations folder from 1 directory?

rfactor is hard!sad

Tue, 03/19/2013 - 08:49
Neverender158's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 10 months ago
Joined: 08/30/2012 - 17:58

Ok so after a little searching on GBR I found this:

Move your tracks directory onto a second hard drive and share it amoung multiple installs of rfactor.
Copy your entire rfactor\GameData\Locations folder onto your second Hard Drive. for the purposes of this exercise we'll presume you have moved it from the above location to D:\Locations. Open config.ini and find the following line and change it to below
Default = TracksDir=GAMEDATA\LOCATIONS\
New = TracksDir=D"\LOCATIONS\
Don't forget to add the trailing "\"

I don't have a second hard drive so is there a way to do this with a single drive?
Tue, 03/19/2013 - 10:22
kurupt's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 09/10/2010 - 23:00

i put my tracks in my main rf1 folder than just copy your locations folder and paste it to your new rf1 lite game data folder.....uses more space on hd but i have 2 drives and 3tb.....yup rf1 is a bitch lol your basically remodding the game to make it better :) and your only a portion into getting it fully setup!

http://gbr.proboards.com/thread/27/rfactor-tweaks-plugins

http://gbr.proboards.com/thread/1964/rfactor-hd-interface

and heres some importantant ingame file tweaks

http://gbr.proboards.com/thread/51/rfactor-tips-tricks

after a few dozen installs it becomes instinct :)

Tue, 03/19/2013 - 10:31
Neverender158's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 10 months ago
Joined: 08/30/2012 - 17:58

I have read those links many times over the past week. Super informative. Thanks for the info!

I have the real feel plugin and the 4gb patch.  I was also able to get it running on my dual monitor setup with no problems at all. 

Thanks for all the info.1

Also, I got the v8 supercars and the DTM mods installed so if you guys want to run that DTM mod this weekend let me know. I will need to get some tracks too, so whatever tracks you guys want to run just post it here. 

Those DTM cars are fun to drive in rfactor. I only spun out a few times but was able to get the hang of them pretty quick.  I just need to copy my controller.ini file to my DTM install.

Tue, 03/19/2013 - 11:20
kurupt's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 09/10/2010 - 23:00

ya they are pretty fun...if iam correct the mod had tracks installed from the official race series

Fri, 07/12/2013 - 13:57
KnightofRedemption's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 2 months ago
Joined: 01/02/2012 - 00:00

Copied from a post over at GBR

Over the past couple of years this little project has been a bit of a hobby of mine.

For those that know or have used the spotter plugin previously www.rfactorcentral.com/detail.cfm?ID=Spotter%20Plugin you have an understanding of how it works. What I have done, is altered most of the messages that the default spotter uses to my own as well as included the racing identities of those in the various leagues I race (or have raced) in.

IN this way, rather than getting a message "about a car in 5th place" you will get the actual drivers name in your spotters call.

A quick example video of the changes can be viewed at

www.youtube.com/watch?v=7P2QJ1ae17Y&feature=youtu.be



I am more than happy to include additional names for those who want it, they just need to provide me with their rfactor PLR name and I can have them updated very quickly.

The attached file simply needs to be placed in your rfactor root directoy. Right click on the file and "extract here".

There is a configuration (Spoptterconfig) file located within the "SpotterAddon" directory. When you open this file you may get a message stating "Your rfactor profile is not supported", simply "close" this message DO NOT click on "click here to modify rfactor profile".

Hope you like it, and if you want any names added email me at

krisech@iinet.net.au

www.mediafire.com/?nyj250d04ij11tl

Thu, 08/01/2013 - 18:32
tartan_special's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 3 months ago
Joined: 04/09/2013 - 17:11

Hope someone can help.

I have just installed the rallyworld mod and for some bizarre reason it wont allow me to run triple screens (only middle screen visible and black left and right)

Whereas loading up a different mod allows triples to work fine.

Is there a file I need to alter?

Cheers in advance.

Thu, 08/01/2013 - 23:49
kurupt's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 09/10/2010 - 23:00

In your rfactor folder under config have you double check to make sure your resolution is set at 5700x1080 or what ever you run for resolution ? Only thing I can think of ATM 

Fri, 08/02/2013 - 01:48 (Reply to #72)
tartan_special's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 3 months ago
Joined: 04/09/2013 - 17:11
Yeah that's all fine as I get triple screens by changing to any other mod in the main menu. I am baffled to be honest lol.
Fri, 08/02/2013 - 05:11
KnightofRedemption's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 2 months ago
Joined: 01/02/2012 - 00:00

Hmm curious, you gotta link to the mod and I'll see what happens for me.

Fri, 08/02/2013 - 07:29
tartan_special's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 3 months ago
Joined: 04/09/2013 - 17:11

www.rallyworldmod.com

Wittled it down to only being 2 cars now in the Hillclimb class (both Suzuki's)

Causing crashes with changing view too now.

Will try to install the Hillclimb mod again.

Fri, 08/02/2013 - 09:48
KnightofRedemption's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 2 months ago
Joined: 01/02/2012 - 00:00

Hmm all sounds a bit iffy, I think I'll leave you to it 1

Thu, 08/29/2013 - 15:44
tartan_special's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 3 months ago
Joined: 04/09/2013 - 17:11

Have you guys tried the VTCC mod?

http://www.rfactoresources.com/2012/08/rfactor-mod-vrc-vtcc-2012-300-by-...

If so what do you think?

 

Thu, 08/29/2013 - 15:48
Neverender158's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 10 months ago
Joined: 08/30/2012 - 17:58

Nope, but I will be loading the WTCC mod they run over at www.efnetsimracing.com I might join them for their Bathurst 1000 race this sunday evening.

here is the promotion information for the event - http://forum.efnetsimracing.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=1947&sid=78b4b5bb57...

Thu, 08/29/2013 - 16:16
tartan_special's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 3 months ago
Joined: 04/09/2013 - 17:11

The touring masters mod is excellent.

just a shame i cant drive them.

Thu, 08/29/2013 - 19:02
kurupt's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 1 month ago
Joined: 09/10/2010 - 23:00

This is the best touring car mod I've come across for rfactor maybe cause its race07 converted to rf1 :) 

Ffb, sound and graphics are almost exactly the same quality only downside which really isn't much is only the 4 door cars have been converted but still awesome!
Disregard the seat wip it was a file I put together for knight it contains racex and the 2012 wtcc tracks 
Wed, 09/11/2013 - 17:27
tartan_special's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 3 months ago
Joined: 04/09/2013 - 17:11

Giggling like a little girl now but one of my favourite series as a kid has been modded for rfactor.

The Renault Spider Cup

Video of them IRL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QO181O_OJso

 

The mod

http://www.rfactorcentral.com/detail.cfm?id=RENAULT%20SPIDER%20CUP

 

Not easy on the eye at all but fun none the less.

Thu, 09/12/2013 - 07:13
Neverender158's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 10 months ago
Joined: 08/30/2012 - 17:58

Those look like lots of fun. I will have to try out this mod for sure.

Join our Universe

Connect with 2o2p