Introduce yourself with a few words here.

141 posts / 0 new
Last post
Fri, 09/13/2013 - 03:35
kurupt's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 3 months ago
Joined: 09/10/2010 - 23:00

Welcome mate! 

http://rfactor.net/web/rf1/downloads/

race 07 can only be downloaded from steam race 07 base content is $2.99 the best bundle is the race injection package it gives you 4 or 6 add on packs for $20...well worth it, but also depends on what type of racing you like....browse through the add on packs and see which ones interest you they have cover everything but rally :) 

 

we will be starting the second half of our btcc season in the next few weeks once I find out what my winter schedule will be, and will most likely be following up the series with a 4 door wtcc mod I came across on rfactor or possibly a 98 super tourer mod I've fallen in love with for race 07....will decide later when we get to that road.

anyways if you need any help just post here and someone will get you sorted.  :) 

as for your fanatec support for fm5....I read on Thomas blog that there looking into creating an adaptor that will allow support but nothing is confirmed yet and all depends if m$ locks them out or not? 

Fri, 09/13/2013 - 07:15
Neverender158's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 4 weeks ago
Joined: 08/30/2012 - 17:58

When I first started looking into rfactor I was overwhelmed and stayed away. I am kicking myself for doing that. As Knight mentioned just use the lite version of the install and load each mod seperatly and you will be fine. It really isnt that big of a deal getting the different mods installed.  There are a few videos that we can share that explain how to use the lite version and get you up and running with rfactor in no time.

Race 07 was my first sim and i put up to 200 hours into it last year before moving to rfactor. I still use rce 07 but just not as much as rfactor because the 2 leagues I am in both run rfactor.  For me it is all about how the sim feels and not how it looks. I have an older machine that I bought in 2009 and have only upgraded the video card to a gts450. So I am still way behind as far as pc hardware goes and both of these sims run great on my old system with as much detail as you can throw at them.  That is the good thing about race 07 and rfactor, they are older games so  you don't need a $1500 pc to run them and get very high fps.

They don't look like forza or gt5 but they handle much better than those games. 

Hope to see you on the track with us soon.

Fri, 09/13/2013 - 17:15
CProRacing's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 9 months ago
Joined: 02/06/2011 - 23:00
Welcome to the new peeps and poids :)
Sat, 09/14/2013 - 01:50
POIDSLY's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 11 months ago
Joined: 01/02/2010 - 23:00

Cheers - bought the race 07 pack. Install options include race 07 and injection separately. Which to start with or is one the core game and the other basically a major upgrade. There are also obviously various expansion packs.

Hmmm, might get a couple of hours to mess around this weekend.

Sun, 09/15/2013 - 15:04
KnightofRedemption's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 4 months ago
Joined: 01/02/2012 - 00:00

Injection adds more cars and tracks, but both work as standalone installs if I remember rightly but once you install them both the kida merge together and all car series and tracks are avaliable fron either launch icon. For race 07 races take a look at Race2Play they run quite a few different races with a variaty of skill levels, both drop in and league.

Sun, 09/15/2013 - 15:51
Atyeo's picture
Offline
Last seen: 6 years 3 months ago
Joined: 04/06/2013 - 09:46

Hi Poidsly,

My 2p regarding wheel/pedals - just recently got into pc racing again after a long break and needed new kit. Decided to go for the Fanatec GT3 RS V2 wheel and CSR Elite pedals as I'd heard great stuff about them. 

Pedals first - they are amazing! The load cell brake is great and I couldn't imagine using anything without it. Now the wheel...The wheel is great but the quality control from Fanatec is abysmal (you can find my post on the whole ordeal in this forum). They delievered two faulty wheels before I got one that worked. However, there customer service was good just the quality is questionable. Bear in mind that I've never used the G27 so I couldn't comment on how they compare.

Happy racing!

Tom

Sun, 09/15/2013 - 18:08
tartan_special's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 6 months ago
Joined: 04/09/2013 - 17:11

Has anyone here tried most of the wheels out there yet?

I was at the Eurogamer expo in London where I had the chance to try out both CSR, CSR Elite, and G27 wheels.

And it was that experience which made me sway for the G27 as I felt both fanatec wheels felt very cheap for the price of them, I tried the Elite on Forza 4 and wasnt incredibly impressed with it, especially how more costly it is compared to the G27 (may have been turned down?).

 

Mon, 09/16/2013 - 04:19
kurupt's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 3 months ago
Joined: 09/10/2010 - 23:00

I know on forza the strength is alot weaker, tho I really enjoy the fanatec belt driven system better than the gears in a g27 but overall I still prefer the g27 lightness and responsiveness over the fanatecs but I found it very easy to over power the g27 and it became quit load when the ffb kicked in

i am still to this date chasing my g27 lap times on a majority of tracks :(

my ideal wheel would be a belt driven g27 with the alcantara leather with a load cell brake :) 

Mon, 09/16/2013 - 04:38
KnightofRedemption's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 4 months ago
Joined: 01/02/2012 - 00:00

If all you tried the Elite on was F4 you know nothing of how the Elite feels. It comes to life on the PC, granted the stock rim is not stellar, though Kurupts issue with his porcshe is I think partly due to the weight of that rim, so it's horses for courses. With the F1 rim and the Elite on the PC it is a whole new ball game. I have only tried it once on the box and F4, it felt like a different wheel, quickly turned it off and returned to PC, it's true home. So judge on the platform you are going to use it on most, and don't dismiss any wheel on the basis of how it felt on the Xbox.

Mon, 09/16/2013 - 06:27 (Reply to #134)
tartan_special's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 6 months ago
Joined: 04/09/2013 - 17:11

KnightofRedemption wrote:

If all you tried the Elite on was F4 you know nothing of how the Elite feels. It comes to life on the PC, granted the stock rim is not stellar, though Kurupts issue with his porcshe is I think partly due to the weight of that rim, so it's horses for courses. With the F1 rim and the Elite on the PC it is a whole new ball game. I have only tried it once on the box and F4, it felt like a different wheel, quickly turned it off and returned to PC, it's true home. So judge on the platform you are going to use it on most, and don't dismiss any wheel on the basis of how it felt on the Xbox.

 

True, it was only F4 that ran with it, but everything else had G27's.

However the Elite was not in my budget so it was either the CSR or G27.

Plus I managed to swipe the G27 new for £150.

Mon, 09/16/2013 - 12:30
KnightofRedemption's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 4 months ago
Joined: 01/02/2012 - 00:00

Same also applies to the CSR, I used it on forza and when I switched to PC it was like I had a new wheel, I guess the point I was making was test on a PC not on Forza if you want to know how the wheel is going to perform at it's best. So you have the G27...Question is kinda mute then. LOL. Hope you are very happy together smiley

Mon, 09/16/2013 - 13:24
Sherb's picture
Offline
Last seen: 8 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 03/19/2011 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Welcome Poids!  151

Mon, 09/16/2013 - 20:59
Cardiac_Wolf's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 08/21/2010 - 23:00

I just pulled the trigger and purchased the Fanatec CSR wheel with the elite pedals and shifter set.   I will need to order a wheel stand for it and I will probably go for the Wheel Stand Pro model.   

Has anyone ever tried using the sequential shifter as a Handbrake?  I will be using the H pattern shifter for the shifting but I thought the sequential might have some potential as a handbrake if it can be hooked up or configured to do so.   

 

Mon, 09/16/2013 - 21:06
Neverender158's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 4 weeks ago
Joined: 08/30/2012 - 17:58

if you plug the pedals into the wheel that should be read as 1 device, then you can use the other 2 shifters but don't quote me on that. In rfactor you can have 3 "controllers" so for me that is my wheel, my pedals and my th8rs shifter.

Congrats on the purchase, hope to see you on the track. If you run the BTCC cars with us you will want to use the sequential shifter for those cars. I think trying to use the H pattern in those cars will be too slow.

Mon, 09/16/2013 - 21:29 (Reply to #139)
Cardiac_Wolf's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 08/21/2010 - 23:00

Neverender158 wrote:

if you plug the pedals into the wheel that should be read as 1 device, then you can use the other 2 shifters but don't quote me on that. In rfactor you can have 3 "controllers" so for me that is my wheel, my pedals and my th8rs shifter.

Congrats on the purchase, hope to see you on the track. If you run the BTCC cars with us you will want to use the sequential shifter for those cars. I think trying to use the H pattern in those cars will be too slow.

Would the paddle shifters be as good as the sequential shifter for this purpose?  The problem I find with sequential shifting, which is basically what is used on a controller, is that when you come to a sudden stop as a result of a crash when in 6th gear, you have to shift down 7 times to reverse.  It is also slow to downshift from 6th gear to 2nd when taking a tight turn.  Though I am sure the best solution is not to crash and it will be something I have to work on.  

It does seem like paddle shifting may conflict with the H pattern shifter because the gear you are set to on the shifter would be off if you were using both.  Do you have to select one method or the other?   

Tue, 09/17/2013 - 05:55
Neverender158's picture
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 4 weeks ago
Joined: 08/30/2012 - 17:58

You have to map the gears so you can have shift up and shift down for the paddles and then you can assign gears 1-7 to the H shifter.

Tue, 09/17/2013 - 06:18
KnightofRedemption's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 4 months ago
Joined: 01/02/2012 - 00:00

To be honest, the base Fanatec shifters are...well... terrible. I use mine to hang my headphones on and that's about it. You can map a neutral button in most if not all sims to take you straight to neutral and yes you can map the seq shifter to the handbrake. Paddle shifters work fine and going from 6th to 2nd for a corner takes less time than used to brake for said corner less than a second, so no time is lost to shifting at all and if you use engine braking...well then it is all part and parcel of the same process.

Tue, 09/17/2013 - 09:57
Sherb's picture
Offline
Last seen: 8 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 03/19/2011 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Yup, key to the sequential shifters is to be downshifting while braking, ultimately ending up in the desired gear as you turn in.

You'll want to choose either sequential or H-pattern.  Trying to juggle both will only slow you down in the end as it makes it more difficult to find a rhythm.  And a rhythm in racing is a key component in finding the flow to a track...and corresponding drop in lap times.

Another note on the Fanatec shifters (not the built in paddles), you will only be able to use one or the other at a time.  The Fanatec shifters have to be plugged into the wheel.  They don't have USB connectors, so they can't be plugged straight into the computer.  If you do find that you enjoy the accessory shifter, I would highly recommend considering the Thrustmaster TH8RS at some point down the road.

Tue, 09/17/2013 - 10:02
kurupt's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 3 months ago
Joined: 09/10/2010 - 23:00

I bought the gt3 rs package with the elite pedals and shifters and use the the sequential and it works fine minus the annoying loud clicking sound it makes....I was gonna use the h pattern shifter till I flicked one gear a quickly realized it was brick and probably the worst shifter made :) 

so paddles or sequential will work fine 

Tue, 09/17/2013 - 21:07
Cardiac_Wolf's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 6 months ago
Joined: 08/21/2010 - 23:00

Thanks for the info again.  It looks like I will have decisions to make with shifting but that shouldn't be too worrisome.  I did just buy the new CSL Wheel Stand from Fanatec on their website tonight.  It is not even released until 9/27 so it will come about 2 weeks after I get the stand.  This stand was about $70 cheaper than the Wheel Stand Pro I was looking after have to buy the shifter adapter so I chose to purchase it instead.   I will not be able to race with it until the stand comes in.   

Join our Universe

Connect with 2o2p