Halo - All Titles General Discussion

51 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 Mon, 06/23/2014 - 19:24
DEEP_NNN's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 07/03/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Halo - All Titles General Discussion

This topic is for the weeks when major Halo topics are not in vogue.

Mon, 06/23/2014 - 19:35
DEEP_NNN's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 07/03/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

I am noticing that Halo 4 MM population is still increasing and will probably continue to do so for 1.5 weeks. I've recorded for Halo Reach that summer MM populations counts rise with daily peaks and lows being much more compressed. The indications are likely more players are playing longer each day than in the typical winter cycle of extreme highs and lows. The current population is mach that of late March.

Also noted as of 8:30 EDT on a Monday, Spartan Ops MM has 407 plays. Not bad.

No way does any of this compare favourably to previous titles but population increases for a game derided as being the worst ever Halo are surprising.

Mon, 06/30/2014 - 14:24 (Reply to #2)
Minotaur's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 8 months ago
Joined: 03/13/2014 - 13:35
Currently Playing: 

DEEP_NNN wrote:

I am noticing that Halo 4 MM population is still increasing and will probably continue to do so for 1.5 weeks. I've recorded for Halo Reach that summer MM populations counts rise with daily peaks and lows being much more compressed. The indications are likely more players are playing longer each day than in the typical winter cycle of extreme highs and lows. The current population is mach that of late March.

Also noted as of 8:30 EDT on a Monday, Spartan Ops MM has 407 plays. Not bad.

No way does any of this compare favourably to previous titles but population increases for a game derided as being the worst ever Halo are surprising.

Quote:
Facebook Conducts ‘Creepy’ Mood Experiment

The study found that users that were shown more negative content were slightly more likely to produce negative posts. Users in the positive group responded with more upbeat posts.

http://whotv.com/2014/06/30/facebook-conducts-creepy-mood-experiment-users-unhappy/

I've often wondered if a handful of negative people could change the mood...

I'm hoping only the positive types will play MCC...

Tue, 07/01/2014 - 13:07 (Reply to #3)
Dixon_Tufar's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 2 months ago
Joined: 12/15/2007 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

DEEP_NNN wrote:

I am noticing that Halo 4 MM population is still increasing and will probably continue to do so for 1.5 weeks. I've recorded for Halo Reach that summer MM populations counts rise with daily peaks and lows being much more compressed. The indications are likely more players are playing longer each day than in the typical winter cycle of extreme highs and lows. The current population is mach that of late March.

Also noted as of 8:30 EDT on a Monday, Spartan Ops MM has 407 plays. Not bad.

No way does any of this compare favourably to previous titles but population increases for a game derided as being the worst ever Halo are surprising.

 

It can't be the worst.  Reach still exists.

Tue, 06/24/2014 - 10:26
DEEP_NNN's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 07/03/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Getting my NAT settings to 'OPEN' for Halo 4 has been hellishly inconsistant on my ASUS AC98U. Still not sure if I can pick a perfect setting that works all of the time. Some routers cannot be 'fixed'.

Did know, it is said that multiple XBoxes on the same home network will result in MODERATE for all but one. Solution, unplug them all, reset router, plug in the box requiring OPEN and check setting. I knows this works a bit.

Just now, I confirmed that my XB1 grabs OPEN for itself. Current solution, unplug XB1 from the network and restart the target 360 for Halo 4. Bingo, but will it work next time?

I've tried port forwarding solutions with limited success. Haven't tried DMZing the target 360 yet and it is also know to have varying results depending on the router make and model.

The good news is this router is playing much nicer than my old one for XB1. Gets OPEN more and the throughput is double what it was.

 

 

 

Tue, 06/24/2014 - 10:54
Shadow's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 12/10/2007 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

I'm still not 100% on exactly the way to port forward to make all xboxes get "open" on the technical side - but I have all the 6 or so ports XBL says to open, opened on my main 360.  I also have another 360 and a One, and both still say OPEN NAT.

Tue, 06/24/2014 - 11:27
DEEP_NNN's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 07/03/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Here are the ports for XB1.

http://support.xbox.com/en-CA/xbox-one/networking/network-ports-used-xbox-live

Xbox Live requires the following ports to be open:

  • Port 88 (UDP)
  • Port 3074 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 53 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 80 (TCP)
  • Port 500 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 3544 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 4500 (UDP)
Tue, 06/24/2014 - 11:44 (Reply to #7)
Shadow's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 12/10/2007 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Here are the ports for XB1.

http://support.xbox.com/en-CA/xbox-one/networking/network-ports-used-xbox-live

Xbox Live requires the following ports to be open:

  • Port 88 (UDP)
  • Port 3074 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 53 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 80 (TCP)
  • Port 500 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 3544 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 4500 (UDP)

right, I know thanks.  I have those open.  However when you forward, you must forward to a specific IP address.  Not a range of IPs.  So, I have "109" set to those which is my Xbox 360 in the living room.

Tue, 06/24/2014 - 12:11 (Reply to #8)
DEEP_NNN's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 07/03/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Shadow wrote:

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Here are the ports for XB1.

http://support.xbox.com/en-CA/xbox-one/networking/network-ports-used-xbox-live

Xbox Live requires the following ports to be open:

  • Port 88 (UDP)
  • Port 3074 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 53 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 80 (TCP)
  • Port 500 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 3544 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 4500 (UDP)

right, I know thanks.  I have those open.  However when you forward, you must forward to a specific IP address.  Not a range of IPs.  So, I have "109" set to those which is my Xbox 360 in the living room.

I also have one 360 with a preset IP.

Tue, 06/24/2014 - 12:46 (Reply to #9)
Shadow's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 12/10/2007 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Shadow wrote:

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Here are the ports for XB1.

http://support.xbox.com/en-CA/xbox-one/networking/network-ports-used-xbox-live

Xbox Live requires the following ports to be open:

  • Port 88 (UDP)
  • Port 3074 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 53 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 80 (TCP)
  • Port 500 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 3544 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 4500 (UDP)

right, I know thanks.  I have those open.  However when you forward, you must forward to a specific IP address.  Not a range of IPs.  So, I have "109" set to those which is my Xbox 360 in the living room.

I also have one 360 with a preset IP.

right....  I feel like we're saying the same thing.  Only my router seems to be fine - at least network tests on the 360s and One always come back green.  Netgear R6300

Tue, 06/24/2014 - 13:19 (Reply to #10)
Shadow's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 12/10/2007 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Shadow wrote:

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Here are the ports for XB1.

http://support.xbox.com/en-CA/xbox-one/networking/network-ports-used-xbox-live

Xbox Live requires the following ports to be open:

  • Port 88 (UDP)
  • Port 3074 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 53 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 80 (TCP)
  • Port 500 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 3544 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 4500 (UDP)

right, I know thanks.  I have those open.  However when you forward, you must forward to a specific IP address.  Not a range of IPs.  So, I have "109" set to those which is my Xbox 360 in the living room.

I also have one 360 with a preset IP.

Make sure your 360 is using DCHP and NOT a static IP.  Put the static IP into your router and match the MAC address.  otherwise uPNP doesn't work.

Example (PS3, but same concept):

http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/showpost.php?s=0ad0fe62c21fbb1285a7e46...

Tue, 06/24/2014 - 13:22 (Reply to #11)
DEEP_NNN's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 07/03/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Shadow wrote:

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Shadow wrote:

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Here are the ports for XB1.

http://support.xbox.com/en-CA/xbox-one/networking/network-ports-used-xbox-live

Xbox Live requires the following ports to be open:

  • Port 88 (UDP)
  • Port 3074 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 53 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 80 (TCP)
  • Port 500 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 3544 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 4500 (UDP)

right, I know thanks.  I have those open.  However when you forward, you must forward to a specific IP address.  Not a range of IPs.  So, I have "109" set to those which is my Xbox 360 in the living room.

I also have one 360 with a preset IP.

Make sure your 360 is using DCHP and NOT a static IP.  Put the static IP into your router and match the MAC address.  otherwise uPNP doesn't work.

That might be the primordial 'it'.

I thought I had to set a Static IP in the 360 so it didn't try to grab a different IP? I also have the same IP reserved for that MAC address. I'll check that out later.

Thanks.

Tue, 06/24/2014 - 13:36 (Reply to #12)
Shadow's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 12/10/2007 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Shadow wrote:

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Shadow wrote:

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Here are the ports for XB1.

http://support.xbox.com/en-CA/xbox-one/networking/network-ports-used-xbox-live

Xbox Live requires the following ports to be open:

  • Port 88 (UDP)
  • Port 3074 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 53 (UDP and TCP)
  • Port 80 (TCP)
  • Port 500 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 3544 (UDP)
  • UDP Port 4500 (UDP)

right, I know thanks.  I have those open.  However when you forward, you must forward to a specific IP address.  Not a range of IPs.  So, I have "109" set to those which is my Xbox 360 in the living room.

I also have one 360 with a preset IP.

Make sure your 360 is using DCHP and NOT a static IP.  Put the static IP into your router and match the MAC address.  otherwise uPNP doesn't work.

That might be the primordial 'it'.

I thought I had to set a Static IP in the 360 so it didn't try to grab a different IP? I also have the same IP reserved for that MAC address. I'll check that out later.

Thanks.

awesome, I hope that works for you.  doing it on both is overkill and not necessary.  It might be the issue.  If the router knows, then all devices can be on DHCP.

Tue, 06/24/2014 - 12:48
Shadow's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 12/10/2007 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

"In the end, all you need is a router that correctly implements UPnP. I used multiple routers with various combinations of settings (port fowarding, port triggering, DMZ, etc.) to try to get my two Xboxes to play Call of Duty simultaneously but to no avail. I bought a new router, opened it, connected everything, turned on UPnP and (voilà!) it worked. All my Xboxes had open NATs and to this day I have not experienced any connection or service issue"

http://neco555.hubpages.com/hub/Multiple-Xbox-360s-with-Open-Nats

Tue, 06/24/2014 - 13:06 (Reply to #14)
DEEP_NNN's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 07/03/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Shadow wrote:

"In the end, all you need is a router that correctly implements UPnP. I used multiple routers with various combinations of settings (port fowarding, port triggering, DMZ, etc.) to try to get my two Xboxes to play Call of Duty simultaneously but to no avail. I bought a new router, opened it, connected everything, turned on UPnP and (voilà!) it worked. All my Xboxes had open NATs and to this day I have not experienced any connection or service issue"

http://neco555.hubpages.com/hub/Multiple-Xbox-360s-with-Open-Nats

Yeah, not all routers impliment UPnP the same. Some are better at it than others.

Unless mine is lying to me, that feature is enabled by default.

Wed, 06/25/2014 - 09:58
DEEP_NNN's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 07/03/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Bummer, didn't work.  XB1 went to strict as well. I may put all of the Xboxes on the reserved IP list with those ports open.

To be clear, the default Router settings, including the latest firmware, had UPnP set to ON but I was having these NAT issues.

 

Wed, 06/25/2014 - 12:02 (Reply to #16)
Shadow's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 12/10/2007 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Bummer, didn't work.  XB1 went to strict as well. I may put all of the Xboxes on the reserved IP list with those ports open.

To be clear, the default Router settings, including the latest firmware, had UPnP set to ON but I was having these NAT issues.

 

yeah you can have it set to on, but if any of the xboxes have static IPs set on the boxes (not HDCP on the actual xbox) then you'll probably have issue.

Sun, 06/29/2014 - 12:58
BCyclops's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 1 week ago
Joined: 11/22/2009 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Had some problems with my router, so I just removed it. Lately I have been gaming without a router and it seems to work well. Wired connection from the Xbox directly to the modem. The downside is that no other internet devices can be used when you do that. Not really a problem for me.

 

 

 

Mon, 09/01/2014 - 09:53
DEEP_NNN's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 07/03/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Anyone watch the PAX H2A Showdown?

It was really good. The stream, casting, sound tranck and even the commercials were excellent. I think GoldenboyFTW is the nicest caster but Bravo is fast, clear and exciting with his speech. Mavin should go back to drinking or whatever and Ghost was probably third best.

Graphics, 1080p, 60fps, new sounds and with the new maps made all the difference for me. Maybe the grenade shake was a bit much but it didn't seem to phase the Pros. Weapons that sounded like 'weapons'! Drool.

I'm fairly sure team ME could beat the Pros at KOTH at least once. After they figure out we're just throwing ourselves at the hill, they might be able to adjust their tactics. smiley

I couldn't stay awake for the finals though.

Mon, 09/01/2014 - 10:55 (Reply to #19)
DedJeloC's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 2 months ago
Joined: 07/10/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Anyone watch the PAX H2A Showdown?

i did.  And it was cool to see some Haloz skilz by the folks who do it best!

on sanctuary, there is a rock....one in particular,  when one of the players went by it, I said, "there is DEEP'S rock" :)

Driver thought it was funny.  I have a memory of running buy you and saying hi...lol.   

Mon, 09/01/2014 - 10:56 (Reply to #20)
DEEP_NNN's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 07/03/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

DedJeloC wrote:

DEEP_NNN wrote:

Anyone watch the PAX H2A Showdown?

i did.  And it was cool to see some Haloz skilz by the folks who do it best!

on sanctuary, there is a rock....one in particular,  when one of the players went by it, I said, "there is DEEP'S rock" :)

Driver thought it was funny.  I have a memory of running buy you and saying hi...lol.   

Those were the days. smiley

I spent a lot of time hiding.

Mon, 09/01/2014 - 13:32
DedJeloC's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 2 months ago
Joined: 07/10/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

smiley

 

This MCC is going to rock!  Watching the tourney got me exited!

Tue, 09/02/2014 - 09:02
LegendcalledJim's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 8 months ago
Joined: 02/13/2009 - 23:00

So we have seen 5 remastered maps right?

Lockout, Coagulation, Zanzibar, Sanctuary and Ascension. I would think the 6th will be a BTB map, but if they are going for most popular H2 maps I would think Midship. I love Midship, but I'm pulling for Waterworks. I would love to see that map redone.

Tue, 09/02/2014 - 09:19
Bluestar's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 8 months ago
Joined: 04/21/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

I thought midship was out since it is in H5.

Would like to see a remade Turf or Relic or an updated Terminal with that damn train.

Tue, 09/02/2014 - 09:38 (Reply to #24)
DEEP_NNN's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 07/03/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Bluestar wrote:

I thought midship was out since it is in H5.

Would like to see a remade Turf or Relic or an updated Terminal with that damn train.

Midship is out as you say, if what Frankie wrote on NeoGaf was clear.

A lot of people are talking about those other three maps too. I read a hint from 343i that more Pro matches may happen before TMCC releases. Kind of supports Turf being the last H2A map for release.

Tue, 09/02/2014 - 10:24
LegendcalledJim's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 8 months ago
Joined: 02/13/2009 - 23:00

I thought I heard there would be no DLC maps. I would also like to see Relic or Terminal. If thats the case it leaves only a handfull of maps. Burial Mounds, Headlong, Ivory Tower, Waterworks, Colossus and Midship. Although I thought Sanctuary  was a DLC map. So with Midship out and Headlong and Ivory Tower both getting their maps redone in Reach I think it only leaves 3 maps.

Tue, 09/02/2014 - 11:53
FreynApThyr's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 3 months ago
Joined: 03/31/2005 - 23:00

Foundation?

Was that the four corners one? with the sword spawn in the middle?

Wild Wild West for the win.

Tue, 09/02/2014 - 14:03 (Reply to #27)
LegendcalledJim's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 8 months ago
Joined: 02/13/2009 - 23:00

FreynApThyr wrote:

Foundation?

Was that the four corners one? with the sword spawn in the middle?

Wild Wild West for the win.

That was a great multi-team map.

Tue, 09/02/2014 - 14:37
Bluestar's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 8 months ago
Joined: 04/21/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Sanctuary was DLC so I guess they can remake those too.

I could see them redoing Burial Mounds, it's a good CTF/Assault map.  Ivory Tower, Beaver Creek, Warlock and Headlong are possibilities.

Original Maps:
Ascension H2A Remake                
Beaver Creek (Battle Canyon from HCE)
Burial Mounds
Coagulation (Blood Gulch from HCE) H2A Remake
Colossus
Foundation
Headlong
Ivory Tower
Lockout H2A Remake
Midship
Waterworks
Zanzibar H2A Remake


DLC:

Maptacular Pack

Backwash
Elongation (Longest from HCE)
Gemini
Relic
Terminal

Bonus Pack

Containment
Warlock (Wizard from HCE)

Blastacular Pack

Desolation (Derelict from HCE)
Tombstone (Hang 'Em High from HCE)

Killtacular Pack

Sanctuary H2A Remake
Turf

Tue, 09/02/2014 - 16:38
Shadow's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 12/10/2007 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Containment for BTB maybe?

Tue, 09/02/2014 - 17:09 (Reply to #30)
DEEP_NNN's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 15 min ago
Joined: 07/03/2005 - 23:00
Currently Playing: 

Shadow wrote:

Containment for BTB maybe?

I love that map but I'd take Burial mounds first. Certainly wouldn't fight over it.

I guess we should be considering the utility of any map which gets converted for H2A. After all, we can play the originals anytime.

I can't believe the number of people on the internet that are saying they just want the old maps carte blanche. Same for campaign. They saying they want the new music for old graphics and just plain playing it all old school.

Join our Universe

Connect with 2o2p