OK/TX/AR LAN part deux

T
tait

[ COPIED TO MYSPACE.COM BLOG ]


Driving up there wasn't bad - about 4.5 hours or so. Was going from Plano (Northern suburb of Dallas) to Tulsa. Saw this sign on Turnpike in OK that said "Do not drive into smoke". I thought that was odd and thought about that sign many times over the weekend. I also saw a sign that said "Drive Friendly". I decided that they aren't the boss of me, so I drove in a joking manner. Screw them and their damn signs. When I arrived, I put my stuff in Volt2amp's room and then went and joined the arrivers at the bar whcih turned out to have pool tables, a dance floor, darts, and a karaoke machine. Proceeded to listen to the most random playlist sung by Oklahoma's worst singers and watch 40+ year old people show the moves they think they have on the dance floor - freaking hilarious!

After awhile I drifted off to bed to attempt some sleep as preparation for next day's gaming. Next morning, I did my usual trip to Starbucks followed by McDonald's (I never eat at McDonald's, except for when they do the Monopoly game. I'm horrible - I just have to play Monopoly. I'll gain, like 5 pounds, just playing Monopoly. Stupid.) then back to the hotel for gaming. Wow - did they ever cram a lot of heat-generating equipment into a tiny one-vent room, then throw in a bunch of heat generating gamers and - it must've been 135 degrees in there. Well, maybe not, but after a couple of hours of playing I started feeling a little light headed. And not just because I was trying to game on an XBox 180 with an unfamiliar Pelican controller on a TV that I was sitting way to close to - but because of the beer. I took frequent breaks, going off to my room to read and cool off. At one point, I realized I hadn't eaten in 8 hours so I took off alone and ended up at Bennigan's - spent like an hour and a half at dinner then went back to the gaming room. Got tossed on a "team" to take someone's place and was seen as a ringer when we won our first 2 games and the other team forfeited game 3 to us. I think I was called a "monster" by someone. AFter that, it was time for "straws" with XS Ice, Brother Dustin and wrstGamerEver. Fun times - highlight of the night. We played until close to 2am, then shot pool, then tried to chat while avoiding throwing up. Lol - good times. See more in my blog posted earlier today that details "Straws"...

Sunday morning, got up, packed and left! It POURED rain on the way back =- so bad that sometimes I couldn't see the road. But, I made it home safely, and that's what counts.


Just for the record, Oklahoma is OK.


Blog by Matthew Tait Lifto


 

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to share your thoughts!