Of two minds...

B
Baine

Okay so August 18th 2007 is the day I tie the knot with my Fiance' and make it all nice and official (also time to start properly working on a heir to the throne).


We went a little backwards in the process, we agreed that we could either have a big wedding, or spend the money and buy a house.  Well we have the house now and are going to have a small-ish wedding.  Which is fine for both of us (it eases my mind for sure).   Now comes the trauma of the Honeymoon arangements....I jokingly said we should go to Niagra Falls, its what my parents did..lol.  She wants to go to a tropical resort (which is fine with me....BELIEVE DaT Yo!) 


Unfortunately, we don't have the money for it...bleck.  I make good money...I have already passed the 80K mark for the year...which is something I never thought would happen.  Unfortunately my credit is sub par which means I have to pay more for most things....ie, the wedding rings, engagement rings, mortgage, car loan..blah blah. 


Now the reason I am of two minds is that I want her to have a great honeymoon with me....but...


She informed me that since money was so tight we shoudl just take some time off from work and go to Niagra Falls and save up and take a real trip next year...in other words postpone the honeymoon for a year.


Is it wrong for me to feel like I have failed her on some level because I can't figure out a way to pay for a honeymoon without going into debt further???

Comments (7)

G
Gatsu·
I can understand that you feel bad. But shes seems very understanding of the situation and is ok with it.\r \r Consider that a blessing. Alot of people would get very upset and make you feel miserable about it and use that against you.\r \r Maybe take her out to dinner and try to have a nice night out or something for now. Try to be romantic. Set up something spiffy to make her smile.
R
rabbmasterflash·
Congrats bro, and honestly you should not feel bad. It is a great testament to you two that you are smart enough to figure out financial stuff now, that is a huge thing.
B
Baine·
Thanks all, I feel better about the whole thing. We of course, like idiots forgot that once youget the house..you have to fill it with stuff....
C
CrypticCat·
Hell man, you have a house now! The honeymoon is right there in the bedroom!
L
Lbsutke·
Bro..my wife and I did the exact same thing, house before wedding, then delayed the Hmoon by six months. Trust me..as time goes by and you see all these people/friends spend 30 40 75 100k on a wedding and Hmoon and then rent an appartment for the next 4 years you will know you did the right thing. I know we did... ;)
D
DrTHE0P0LIS·
Alice and I are still waiting on our honeymoon after 4 years of marriage and 7 years together. These things happen. Bo good to the little lady (and I do mean good)and shit like this won't matter to her. Save up for a year and then go somewhere nice that you can enjoy without having to worry about the financial repercussions.
D
DrTHE0P0LIS·
But yes, you are half a man and have failed her.