So I'm knee deep in background research

D
DSmooth

for my expose on how WoW can be so shitty, take so little skill, yet be soooooo popular all at the same time.  I'm working my Night Elf Warrior through the ranks slowly but surely on Aggamaggan...  It's going to take some time to give the game a fair shake, but for now lets just say.... grind, grind, grind, grind, grind...

D

Comments (19)

D
doodirock·
Be careful. Its just going to suck you in.
S
Speedbump·
I think he's sucked in already, but just in denial.
D
DanLeCrinque·
Yeah, well it's because D lacks the proper mental skills to fully understand the complex game mechanics ;D
D
DSmooth·
The game mechanics... LOL... Click... repeat\r
S
SGreth·
Mind you: DSmooth picked a warrior, quite possibly the most boring class in the entire freaking game. That and the fact that he's a total RPG n00b.
B
BrokenDesign·
I think that you've got your expose right there: takes so little skill and is so very popular. Lets all those people, young and old alike, feel like they've got something major accomplished. For some people, a friend of mine included, they NEED the feeling they get from WoW, the feeling of being as close to an earthbound god as possible and be looked up to by guildmates as a form of self-fulfillment and compensation for the lack of similar feelings in RL. Similar to alcoholism and such. This is why we need rehab clinics all over in the States.\r \r By the way, keep fighting the urge to succumb to the addiction. I got to level 24 and still found it to be a rather dull, repetitive game. But I'm no good and not horribly interested in RPGs in general so I was predetermined to not get consumed.
C
codemonkey·
Your so in denial it isn't even funny. You just won't let your ego shrink just a tad to say \"ok, I see how this is addicting.\"\r \r You're so stuck on the \"skill\" issue that you just don't want to let it go. Mr. Skill \"Agro Man\"\r \r Game takes no skill, yet he has no idea why he was raped by a cave of mobs. ;-)\r \r CodeMonkey
S
SGreth·
@ BrokenDesign\r \r Holy shit man, you read too much into things. Can't WoW just be fun?
B
BrokenDesign·
If it wasn't $15 a month, then yes ;-)
C
codemonkey·
He's borderline, that's for sure. :)
T
TaxiSquad27·
D, you have no micro. Your mouse twitch is sub par. Like I mentioned, I'm glad you're giving this a \"fair\" shake and have no preconcieved notions about this \"shitty\" game. Still, I'll give you \"shitty\" editorial a \"fair\" shake when you finally put it to press.\r \r Noobcake.
C
codemonkey·
LOL!!!!!
X
XSSmoke·
DS , roll a Hunter, hunter's not only pwn, they are friggin fun to play. Also mages are pretty fun, warrior is a grind.
S
stragglerJ·
grind, grind, grind, grind, grind...
D
DanLeCrinque·
BTW, not saying that the game is pure skills, far from that... but try and dual Bill, just a couple times and let me know if it's simply click, click, click.
D
doodirock·
@TaxiSquad27 \r \r You just owned dsmooth. How easy was that. I know, easy.
O
OldManRiver48·
Hmmmm, sounds like your being punished, oh well! Good luck monkey boy.......j/k :)
E
Em·
wow\r i cant fucking believe it...you went beyond your free trial...wtf.....
T
thebrigade·
I'm rating your blog down in retaliation for joining the WOW ranks.\r \r Lotus