Network TV

S
SoupNazzi

I hate it for the most part.


I don't watch a lot of shows...  maybe 3-4 a year, and 1-2 of those usually carry over from the year before.  AKA - "Lost".


Anyways, I find out last night, that one of my new favorites, "Smith" has been cancelled already.  I'm at a loss.  "Smith" was smart, had good actors, and very good acting.  The plot was well thought out and a person didn't have to "suspend disbelief" (See "Prison Break") to enjoy the show.


I'll admit it.  I'm a Ray Liotta fan.  Ever since I saw "Goodfellows", I've tried to catch anything he's been in.  He was the main character in "Smith".  Amy Smart was also in the show.  She played a character I've never seen her play before.  Sultry, sexy, and down right deadly.  Very intriguing.


So, alas, another good show (in my opinion) cancelled before its time.  Off to the graveyard where "Serenity" lies.  (I can't equate the two totally, as they are different genres.)


The problem I think with shows like "Smith" is that they don't wrap up a plot line all nice and tidy within 1 hour.  Instead they spread the plot out.  Unless they hit it big right off the bat (See "Lost") the Networks aren't interested.


So, now I watch the following:


1.  "Lost" (ABC) - Been a fan since the first episode.  Still going strong.  I'm a big fan of J.J. Abrams.


2.  "The Unit" (CBS) - I'm a sucker for Military shows, and this one is pretty darn good.  The same guy (Shawn Ryan) who created "The Shield" created "The Unit".  I love both shows.  (BTW, he has started production of "Max Payne"  Sound familiar video gamers?)


3.  "Prison Break" (FOX) - I have to suspend disbelief to watch this show, but it is still entertaining.  Unfortunately, it's on hiatus while MLBaseball is holding the playoffs.


4.  "The Office" (NBC) - I love this show.  Best comedy on TV at the moment.


5.  "Robot Chicken" (Adult Swim?) - 10 minutes of just pure stupid enjoyment.  Animated show created by Seth Green.


6.  "Jericho" (NBC) - An interesting concept, but I don't see it lasting much longer as it follows the same formula of "Smith" with the plot spread out.  The only thing keeping people viewing is them wanting to know who blew the United States up.  Probably the only reason I'm still watching.


7.  "Friday Night Lights" (NBC) - I picked this up to replace "Smith"  Unfortunately, I don't see myself sticking with it.  The movie was great, however, the TV show is just the movie, re-hashed.  In fact, I'll probably drop it this week.






Dropped:


"Smith" (CBS) - By the Network


"Grey's Anatomy" (ABC)- Lost interest.  Wife still watches it.


"Nip/Tuck" (FX) - Once it Jumped the Shark last season I never returned.






Upcoming:


"The Sopranos" (HBO) - Final Season.  I really hope they go out with a bang, and not a whimper.  The last few episodes have left me disappointed.


"Rome" Season 2 (HBO) - If you missed the first season of "Rome" well, you missed a pretty good show.  The 2nd season should even be better.


"The Shield" (FX) - Still going strong.  This season should be really good with how last season ended.


"Rescue Me" (FX) - Season is over until next summer.






And now, Vids!


What a Pummeling


[google]http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-6315113964671200441&sourceid=docidfeed&hl=undefined[/google]


DiscrimiNav


[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IdSaDbVj3t8[/youtube]


A Real Celebrity Jeopardy (I guessed Van Gogh)


[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QW1Qm-Bs38E[/youtube]


300 - Awesome looking movie coming soon


[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDiUG52ZyHQ[/youtube]


For a better view:  http://raincloud.warnerbros.com/wbmovies/300/teaser/teaser_500.mov


 

Comments (6)

B
biorod·
Sorry about \"Smith\"...I barely watch any television now except for \"Zaboomafoo\" or whatever we have on for my son. I read about all the cancellations in an article on CNN. I think the shows are scrambling to capture a decreasing number of viewers, and the short life of these new shows reveals that.\r \r As for the YouTube stuff, I usually don't watch it since most of the time that I'm reading your blog, I'm at work. I try to watch some when I get home, but usually I don't.
W
Whamolla·
I figured it wasn't on last night because of the play-offs.\r \r I tend to bitch out and go to sleep at 9:30 or 10, but I was actually staying up late on Tuesdays just to watch it.\r \r How can they judge the popularity of a show that is on @ 10pm and runs for 3 episodes?
W
Whamolla·
Meanwhile Deal or No Deal is slowly taking over the world.
S
SoupNazzi·
Bio - I have the same issue. Only we watch \"The Suite Life of Zach and Cody\" Amongst other shows on Disney (Hannah Montana).\r \r If you don't have one, I highly recommend TiVo. I'll never be able to live without one I think.\r \r The kid gets to watch her shows until 8pm. Then we read books and get her to bed, then I either play Halo or watch my TiVo shows.\r \r I watched Friday Night Lights and The Unit last night after I got off Halo 2 around 10:30. Skipping commercials rocks!\r \r Oh, btw, watch the YouTube clip for \"300\" That movie looks like it is going to rocks.
M
MTK005·
Dude - check out heroes. Not great, but could also replace FNL, which is getting bad ratings.
S
ShakesItUp·
I was bummed when I heard they cut Smith cold turkey. I thought it was smart and I love Liotta's acting. The least they could do was finish out the season. I guess when you \"only\" have 8.5 million viewers for a 10pm show on a Tuesday it has to go =(\r \r I agree with MTK, check out Heroes. You can watch the episodes you've missed online at nbc.com/heroes and there is a graphic novel that fills out the story between episodes. Pretty sweet.