My accident

F
Falelorn

Going to talk about my accident..

April 7 02 I was working near a pressurized steam pipe that over pressured and hit me in the head, above my left eye at the hair line and split back 4.5 inches of skull, then slammed my head into a wall causing a 2nd concussion andmore problems.

But I didnt pass out, the brain trauma people couldnt figure out why, they never saw anyone with that much damage, swelling, etc not pass out.. but if I would have passed out I would have fallen into a motor that was running and I would have died for sure.

I was able to walk the 100 feet across a busy road (some how, dont remember how because I couldnt see from the blood in my eyes) and get someone to help me. Which was my step dad and my brother in law, both have trouble talking about it, I was pretty bloody.

By the time I got to the hospital I lost about 3 liters of blood, they stopped it, and fixed me up.

9 months later I was able to start therapy, I was in bed or on a couch for most of the 9 months. For the next while (Dont remember how long, I have memory issues) I was in therapy (physical, mental, etc), and after the therapy I was able to work, but I was pushed out of therapy to quickly and I had a relapse which was bad, now I cant work out of the house because I suffer from migranes 2-4 a week, a daily hard headaches.

Migranes are triggered by smell, sound, light and stress. Workers Compensation Board (a bull shit Canadian governement cesspool) is still screwing around, might end up suing them for their lack of help.

I have scar tissue around the fracture on my head, but my hair didnt turn white there (damnit that would look cool), and I work when I can from home writing (lost my job when the company I worked for had to cut costs), but they sucked anyways.

Today is a bad day, I move and I fall down. but I have good days (I can drive for 20 minutes before I need to stop)

Thats the story, not much detail, but to much would be to personal

Comments (10)

K
KingDrewsky·
Damn, man. That's a tough cookie to swallow. I'm sorry.
T
TANK·
Thumbs up for sharing dude! I can't imagine what you went through and continue too. Sucks 4 years later you still are suffering from it. Hey maybe you can open your own Canadian video game rental business! Don't need to go anywhere to do that and you can play games all day long.
C
codemonkey·
So, will you eventually recover fully?\r \r CodeMonkey
J
jtgjr007·
I would have thought that Canada would be easire than that to get Workers Comp or disability.
J
Jmarps·
Yikes! Hang in there man....
F
Falelorn·
@Codemonkey - no after 2 years, brain injuries dont get better, or so the common opinion about them is. \r \r @jtgir007 - Workers Comp is very easy to get, but after my therapy was over they pushed me back into work and I replapsed, and once the case is closed its almost impossible to get it reopen..\r \r \r Thanks for the words all. Makes me feel good
G
GIJoeBob·
Sorry about all that man. Hoping and praying for additional recovery.
G
Go_Aachmed·
Thanks for sharing brother. I'm sure you'll make good with the rest of your life somehow, you see like th etipe that won't quit. I'd say that at least you have us, but I don't want to depress you any further. Cheers. \r \r BTW, like the blog, read every post so keep up the good work.
G
Go_Aachmed·
*seem like the type\r I type all day and it really gets sucky around evening time.
F
Falelorn·
Thanks guys :)\r \r Nice to see people do read it.