New Releases: Week of May 18, 2014

The good news for gamers for this week’s new releases? There’s six new games! For those 2o2p stat geeks, that’s three and two times as many new releases from the last two weeks respectively. The bad news? Only a third of this week’s new releases are on next gen consoles. Someday soon we hope to see a shift towards the next gen consoles; I’m sad to say it’s not this week. What we do have, however, is a trio of RPG’s for your role playing pleasure, an enhanced PC release for Suda 51 fans, a next gen shooter that’s not named Titanfall or COD, and a survival horror game for those of you who prefer a little “scare” in your games.     


Drakengard 3
Release Date: May 20, 2014
Platforms: PS3[width=650,height=366]

Do you aspire to be Daenerys Targaryen and pummel your enemies with the fiery breath of your very own dragon? If your answer is yes, then Drakengard 3 is for you! The third game in the Drakengard series puts you in the role of Zero who, together with her dragon Mikhail, seeks to kill her five sisters-rulers of the world’s regions-and the subject of Zero’s ire.


Killer is Dead: Nightmare Edition
Release Date: May 23, 2014
Platforms: PC[width=650,height=366]

Originally released in August 2013 for both PS3 and Xbox 360, Suda 51’s Killer is Dead: Nightmare Edition is a brand spanking new PC edition that features a new mode-aptly named Nightmare mode. Players can only defeat enemies in Nightmare mode using one of three attacks: Adrenaline Bursts, Dodge Bursts and Headshots.. As Mondo Zappa, executioner extraordinaire, you travel the world dispensing of its evil with either Mondo’s sword or his cybernetic left arm that seamlessly converts into various tools of death and destruction. Fans of Suda 51 games will be happy to know the game does not feature, in any way, a completely clear and concise plot.


Mugen Souls Z
Release Date: May 20, 2014
Platforms: PS3[width=650,height=366]

The second game in the Mugen Souls series puts you in the role of Syrma. After Chou Chou’s powers, the protagonist in Mugen Souls, are stolen by a malfunctioning coffin and she shrinks. Syrma, who somehow now owns Chou Chou, and must then travel her galaxy absorbing “Ultimate Gods” in order to restore Chou Chou’s powers. Confused yet? Well, what did you expect, it is a Japanese RPG after all. 


The Forest
Release Date: May 22, 2014
Platforms: PC[width=650,height=366]

The Forest, an open world survival horror game, pits you against a nocturnal tribe of cannibals after your plane crashes and strands you on the island. To survive you must learn to create shelter and collect supplies to create weapons and other tools needed to ensure your survival. The Forest will also feature compatibility with Oculus Rift virtual reality headset.


Release Date: May 20, 2014
Platforms: PS4, PC[width=650,height=366]

Transistor, Supergiant Games’ follow up to Bastion, places you in the role of Red, a famous singer from the city of Cloudbank. The Process,a robotic force controlled by the Camerata, attack Red with the Transistor, a massive greatsword. After nearly being killed with the Transistor, Red finds it buried in the chest of a dead man. Taking the Transistor as her own Red,  soon finds the Camerata will stop at nothing to recover it.


Wolfenstein: The New Order
Release Date: May 20, 2014
Platforms: PS3, PS4, Xbox 360, Xbox One, PC[width=650,height=366]

Wolfenstein: The New Order, the ninth installment in the Wolfenstein series, is a single player only FPS. After the Nazis defeat the Allies in WW2, BJ Blazkowicz embarks on an extremely difficult counter offensive against the dreaded Third Reich. Traveling throughout Europe, BJ must take down numerous Nazi strongholds, gain control of the Nazi super weapons and break the stranglehold the Nazis have on the world. Gamers who pre-ordered Wolfenstein: The New Order receive access to the Doom  beta as an added bonus!

Join our Universe

Connect with 2o2p